The Arigna Mining Experience Centre is billed as a great day out for all ages and will certainly appeal to those with an interest in history or anyone looking for a day with a difference. The mountains have been associated with mining for around 400 years, Arigna became the first major power-generating station in Connacht and was set up by the ESB in 1958. Now it is a popular tourist destination which preserves the energy heritage of this area. It gives visitors an insight into coal mining life in the Arigna Valley from the 1700s until its closure in 1990. A typical visit includes a 45-minute underground tour, with sound and lighting effects for an authentic mining experience. Visitors can also see an exhibition where local geology and the formation of coal deposits are explained. Other facilities include a gift shop and a café. The coal mines are open every day of the week and a visit can be arranged by contacting Riverside Cabs on 086-886 0363.