The picturesque Dromineer Castle is easily seen upon entering the harbour. This castle was owned by John Cantwell in 1640. Having originally being built as a hall castle in the 13th century, it was converted to a tower-house in the 15th century . This two-storey building had a single long room at the upper level. It was later raised to four storeys and partially vaulted over the ground floor. At present the castle has a strong covering of ivy and most of the west walls have turned to ruin. Parts of the bawn wall are still visible.This gives the building an empty shell-like appearance.